Maru

2 Dec

For me, Alone= let’s try some restaurants that i spotted which look nice and more expensive than 200TWD. So i went to SYS Memorial, the area that seem the nicest for restaurants so far. I had seen a nice Japanese one, and since i wanted to eat raw fish, that was perfect. A lot of people go to eat sushi in crowded places or in food courts, but i think that to appreciate food you need to be in a calm environment, not with too much noise and too crowded. And it’s even more important when it comes to the simplest food, like sushi and sashimi. Otherwise you can’t really concentrate on the dish and really taste the difference. That’s only my point of view, but that’s why i haven’t tried any sushi in Taiwan so far. As it’s already more expensive than average, i’d rather go once and to a place of my taste. I know i’m picky.

So anyway, i went there. First, they don’t have any menu outside and even inside, you just ask for the fish in front of you and the cook do it for you (like a Teppanyaki but with fish). So when i entered i was quite hesitating to really eat there (no menu means expensive usually). But when i asked for the price, i understood 150 TWD. So i thought it was awesome and not expensive at all. But that was my mistake, actually it was 1,500 TWD. (Hum, i really need to improve my Chinese…)

Anyway, they give you tea in a nice cup, ginger, green onion, white radish, soy sauce and wasabi. Then you ask for the fish you want, or since i didn’t know what i liked, the cook prepares several fishes. I had squid, tuna, really small and white raw shrimps, eel (really good), shell, and some other fishes. They were just awesome. I prefered soft fishes, and i just didn’t use my teeth at all to eat them. The tongue was enough to cut them. Just delicious. So far this is the best raw fish of my life.Then i had some seaseed, an egg soup (that’s quite weird), some soy beans, and as desserts, another tea with a green passion fruit and a red bean paste, which was quite nice.

The cook i had was the chef, and he was really nice. We chatted all the time, and he corrected me on the way to eat sushi, with which sauce i should eat which sushi. He also made magic tricks with my watch, his money, and to give me his card. We talked about Taiwan, the differences between Taiwan and France. The waitress were also really nice, one was my age and we exchanged our facebook, so i’ll see if something will go out of it.
From what i’ve seen, the customers are mainly regulars.

I loved their tea cup, so i asked them where they had bought it, and they gave me because they said it was made in Japan and nowaday the company doesn’t produce them anymore. So for the price, i had a free teacup, magic tricks, cutting raw fish demonstration, how-to-eat sushi lesson, someone to talk with, and my meal. I don’t know why but i always find it’s really fun to go alone to the restaurant (not all the time, but sometimes yeah), you can talk with different people there and learn a lot of things.

Nice restaurant anyway.

Maru
MRT: SYS Memorial

One Response to “Maru”

  1. Marc 2 December 2011 at 21 h 25 min #

    Ça donne envie d’y aller !
    En tous cas, bravo pour ta pratique du chinois, ça inspire confiance si tu dois guider tes visiteurs hahaha !

Leave a Reply

