Meat balls & Saffron rice

20 Jul

Here was my deal: I had to cook button mushrooms without their taste or in a way that they would not appear like mushrooms because my father doesn’t like them, and my mother wanted to eat starchy & meat… I was wondering what kind of dish i could prepare with those requirements when i saw on facebook that a friend had a couscous a few days ago. It made me think about meat balls, and then idian (yeah i don’t see the link myself neither…).

So i tried to make some meat ball with button mushroom that would go with saffron rice… Ok, i totally made-up this recipe of meat balls so i don’t really know if that’s great, but my parents finished it so i guess it’s edible.

Meat balls:
– 500g of chopped steak
– 500g of button mushrooms
– 1 big onion
– parsley
– cumin
– red hot pepper
– coriander seeds about 7, you can’t really smell them so more if you like it
– salt & pepper
– 5cl milk
– 2 slices of sandwich loaf
– 2 eggs
– oil
– butter
– flour

Cut your mushrooms in small pieces, cook them with some oil in your frying pan. Let them cool down.
Chop your onion in small pieces. Blend.
Soak your sandwich loaf in milk and put with the onion and mushrooms. Mix this with the meat, add the 2 eggs, salt, pepper, coriander, parsley, red hot pepper, cumin as you like, and mix. Adjust if needed.
I’m sorry i don’t know how much you should put, but i always taste everything to see if it’stasty enough so my proportions are haphazard…(yeah it’s bad).
Make some balls with your hands, roll them in flour and fry them in your frying pan with butter for about 15 mn (it depends your balls).

Saffron rice:
I found the recipe here on dadadelices, i changed a very few things because the recipe is already amazing:
– 45g of butter
– 1 soup spoon of oil
– 1 onion
– 1 tea spoon of sumin
– 1,5 tea spoon of salt
– 1/2 tea spoon of saffron
– 1,5 glass of rice

Melt your butter and oil in a pan, add the cut onion, stir. When it starts changing colors, add the cumin and saffron, wait 30s, then add the washed rice, stir for 2mn and pour 3cm of water, then cover for 15mn.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Voici mon problème: je devais cuisiner des champignons de Paris de façon à ce qu’ils n’en n’aient pas le goût ou la forme vu que mon père ne les aime pas trop, et ma mère voulait des féculents et de la viande. Autant dire que je n’étais pas très inspirée, mais j’ai vue qu’une de mes amies sur facebook avait mangé un couscous il n’y a pas longtemps, et ça m’a fait penser à des boulettes de viande, et ensuite, à de l’indien (ne me demandez pas le lien, je ne le vois pas non plus).

Donc voici une recette inventée e ce qui concerne les boulettes de viande. Hum, je ne sais pas ce que ça donne, mais en tout cas, mes parents l’ont fini donc ça doit être mangeable (après est-ce que c’est par politesse…).

Boulettes de viande:
– 500g de steak haché (steak haché haché pour les intimes ^^)
– 500g de champignons de Paris
– persil
– quelques grains de coriandre
– persil
– sel & poivre
– piment doux
– cumin
– 1 gros oignon
– 5 cl de lait
– 2 tranches de pain de mie
– 2 oeufs
– beurre
– farine

Couper les champignons en petits morceaux, les faire cuire à la poêle avec de l’huile. Les laisser refroidir.
Couper l’oignon, les mixer avec les champignons.
Tremper le pain de mie (sans la croute bien sur) dans le lait, le mélanger à la viande avec les champignons/oignons, les oeufs, le sel, le poivre, le persil, le cumin, la coriandre, le piment. Doser comme bon vous semble, je fais toujours au pif donc je ne connais pas les doses utilisées. En sachant que le riz était au cumin et safran, j’ai aussi accentué cette épice pour les boulettes pour ne pas faire tâche.
Faire des petites boules, rouler dans la farine et cuire environ 15 mn (mais ça dépend plus de la taille de vos boulettes j’ai envie de dire).

Riz au safran:
J’ai trouvé la recette ici sur dadadélices, j’avais déjà fait ce riz et je l’avais adoré.
– 45g de beurre
– 1 cuillère à soupe d’huile
– 1 cuillère à soupe de cumin
– 1 dosette de safran
– 2 cuillères de sel
– 1,5 verre de riz
– 1 oignon

Faire fondre le beurre et l’huile dans une casserole, rajouter l’oignon en remuant jusqu’à ce qu’il change de couleur. Ensuite, rajouter le safran et le cumin, remuer 30s.
Verser le riz et le sel, attendre 2 mn que le riz s’imprègne des épices, et rajouter 3 cm d’eau. Couvrir et faire cuire 15mn.

Leave a Reply

